Woman of the spirit award


  • Featured Who’s Who in Black Washington (2010, 2011)
  • History Makers Award for Outstanding Leadership (2010)
  • The Trumpet Award for Outstanding Writing (2005)
  • Leadership Washington (2005) 
  • Life Time Achievement Award – Washington Association of Black Journalists (2001)
  • Allstate “ From Whence We Came Award of Triumph”- National Council of Negro Women  (1997)
  • Sojourner Truth Award, The National Black Leadership Conference – Richmond VA (1998)
  • NAACP Award for Outstanding Journalism-Northern Virginia (1997)
  • Drum Major for Justice Award in Communications, The Southern Christian Leadership Conference (1987)


  • James F. Jenkins Pillar of  Faith Community for Outstanding Contribution to the Spiritual community, United Church of Christ (2008)
  • Woman of the Year Award, Greater Mt. Calvary Holy Church, Washington DC (2004)


  • Featured on Panel with Michael Duster, granddaughter of Ida B. Wells and Ann Roosevelt, granddaughter of Eleanor and former president Franklin D. Roosevelt, discussing issues effecting public housing (2010)
  • Howard University – Ida B. Wells Award for Advocacy in Journalism (2001)
  • Ohio State University -Honorary Doctorate in Humane Letters  (1996)
  • Shenandoah University – Honorary Doctorate of Humanities Winchester VA (1995)
  • University of Missouri (Columbia) -School of Communications Award for Distinguished Service in Journalism (1991)
  • Columbus Ohio Public Schools – Inducted to Hall of Fame, Columbus OH (1986)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.